Most of the time, when you go for a road trip with your family, you go pretty much insane.
Its gets horrible, annoying, cramped, unbearable, but there are some breaks when you get a smile and a laugh in, but that mostly means that you're about to explode.
That was how it was when me and my family took a road trip to Canada.
Yeah, i know. We go there alot.
We had to pack a lot of clothes. I mean one BIG duffle bag for one person, it was easier for me because i had smaller clothes and stuff but my bag was still stuffed to the max.
Then the next morning, well, I didn't consider it morning, but at about 3:00 AM, we loaded everything into the truck and started driving.
3,000 miles. Yay.
Three days, waking up at 4:00 AM driving until 12:00 AM or later. Was. Horrible.
I mean yeah, we didnt have to do anything for three days, but when you're being lazy around the house you can actually move around, but in that truck, you barley had legroom.
Me and my sister fought and fought, maybe even physically a few times. But it was bad. i mean we wouldnt even look at each other, and just being around each other gave you that weird restless feeling, but sometimes we got along. Sometimes.
I seriously think we almost went mental every time we've gone up there in a truck. The only time we got a break was when we'd get to a hotel room. And we never got to enjoy the freedom, because we had to go to sleep when we got into the room.
But the scenery was amazingly beautiful. That was the only thing that could distract you from that cramped feeling, just watching everything go by you, the trees, the mountains, the animals, the lakes and rivers, was the only way you felt free.
Crossing the border was a total hassle. Most of the time we cant just drive through and flash our passports and say where we were going and why, but we had to get out of the truck, go thorough customs, explain why we were individually going, and why my dad had guns. They had to do a backround check on him, he had to make payments for permits to have the gun there for 6 months, and they took his ammunition, he had to buy more when we got through the border, but on the bright side, we were finally in Canada. But still had two looooooong days left. Just thinking about doing that again makes me tired. I mean, really? Sitting in a hot, humid car for 14+ hours isnt good for you at all. Even sleeping in the truck, you could only sleep for a few hours for some reason. Its like your body wants you to be bored stiff.
And the worst part was, all we ate was junk food. Greasy, bland, fried, fatty junkfood. No dinners where you got to sit down and order, but drive through style. Ugh, you got tired of that fast. and you got thirsty alot. we would buy bottles and bottles of water but it would never last us enough time before it got hot, or we drank it all, but by that time, we had to stop for a restroom break.
I think there was something wrong with my dad.
He seriously stopped every few hours to go to the bathroom.
And he got teased, a lot.
He eventually got mad but we didnt care, we were distracted for a half an hour.
My sister was always on her computer playing her games, not talking to anyone, headphones on, and zoned out.
This one time, she fell asleep listening to her ipod touch, with loud headphones on, and i got her ipod, and i suddenly turned it up all the way, and i scared her, ohh that was hilarious, and im pretty sure she screamed, from being scared and her yelling at me..
When we finally got to our destination we had to get un-packed which sucked. But, the cabins we were staying in were amazing (See first post) and it felt like home, even though we were so far away.
No comments:
Post a Comment