Once again, me and my dad were in Canada.
But for a different reason.
To work in a Gold Mine for the reality TV show, Gold Rush.
This time, it was just me and my dad. In a camper. Whew! It was cramped even with two people. But we got over it.
My dad was gone most of the time, so i had the place to myself, the TV, everything. We even had WIFI
which was reaaallllllly nice.
I got to Skype with my mom sometimes, but the part that was the most fun was being able to drive my four-wheeler anywhere i pleased. But, if the camera crew wasnt there, i couldn't ride in it unless my dad was driving.
But, anyways, the camera crew came and went every couple of weeks, and were very annoying at times.
I mean, really annoying. Cameras in your face, following you around when something interesting happens, and asking questions about what happened at 100 mph. (Not literally of course)
The whole experience was really weird but really educational. I know how TV works now, whether something was staged or actually happened, if they put words into your mouth, taking if from past words you've said and putting them in that scene to make you either look bad, or say something that messes everyone up.
TV does that to you. I know, hard to believe right? No, not really. TV messes with everything to make it interesting, or dramatized, or just entertaining in general. They'll make you look really bad one episode, then the next, they'll make you look like a saint, coming to the rescue! But, don't believe in everything that you see on TV, even if they are documentaries, they'll say that this happened and tell the story of baby bears and their mom, but then, they'll use totally different animals, not even in the same area, or even country.
TV does try to push things into your brain that isn't true, but some things are real.
Like some Reality TV, not like Duck Dynasty, which was totally scripted, and made from a bunch of duck call makers. But, even some of the true stuff isn't true, ya feel? Some of it, the people have to repeat what they say, over and over, and they have to say what the camera guys tell them too. They say it like they are giving 'ideas' but they are really just putting words in their mouths.
And most of this stuff isn't about Gold Rush, its mainly about what TV can make you look like, and what they make you say, even if you didn't say it.
If you say something wrong, oh man. They are going to use that footage to put some tension between you and who youre talking about.
Oh, they can stage things between people, like a 13 year old in middle school. It is baddddd.
Then, if you say dont use this, or dont put that on, they want to use it even more, to cause conflict.
But even getting interviewed by the people is stressfull, you have to watch every little thing that you say, or people will take offence, or even start to "Troll" or bother the people that agree with it, or they'll just start to bash at you. Heres an example.
Lets say im getting interviewed. and they ask,
"What's your families nickname for you?' and i reply with "Deadeye Macfly"
And they put it on.
People will say, "Hey, they stole that off of back to the future!!"
or "Is there something wrong with her eye" and it will get alot of un-wanted and un-needed attention.
You just gotta remember, tv is entertaining, mesmerizing and addicting, and a whole lot of other things.
But if you do something wrong, a whole lot of people will tell you their opinion, whether its good or bad, and most of its bad.
Watch what you see when watching tv.
No comments:
Post a Comment